Our Milestones

July 1955 Fr. Francis Acharya arrives in Bombay.
September 1955 Fr. Francis begins a year-long stay at Saccidananda Ashram (Shantivanam) in Tamil Nadu with its founders Fr. Jules Monchanin and Fr. Henri Le Saux OSB.
November 1956 A small community is established at Pushpagiri, Tiruvalla, in the company of Fr. Bede Griffiths OSB under the authority of Zacharias Mar Athanasios, Bishop of Tiruvalla.
November 3, 1957 Mar Athanasios signs Constitution establishing a contemplative monastery sui iuris in the Syro-Malankara Catholic Church.
Marcy 21, 1958 Kurisumala Ashram established at Vagamon.
September 14, 1958 Ashram Church Consecrated and the first three novices clothed in the monastic habit.
August 6, 1968 Fr. Francis Shashitiabdapurti celebrated, becomes an Indian citizen.
August 28, 1968 Fr. Bede Griffiths departs from Kurisumala and takes charge of Shantivanam Ashram.
October 1996 In the Company of Geevarghese Mar Timotheos, Bishop of Tiruvalla, Fr. Francis attends the Cistercian (Trappist) General Chapter held in Rome.  He makes a request for the incorporation of Kurisumala Ashram into the Order.
July 9, 1998 Official incorporation of Kurisumala Ashram into the Cistercian Order O.C.S.O.
October 14, 1999 Fr. Francis blessed as Abbot.
January 31, 2002 Fr. Francis departs to the heavenly homeland.
March 20, 2002 Fr. Yesudas blessed as the second Abbot of Kurisumala.
April 7, 2014 Fr. Ishanand blessed as the third Abbot of Kurisumala.